5/5

Call Us!

Findlay Market  

Findlay’s Market is the only surviving city market of the nine public markets operated in Cincinnati, Ohio during the 19th and early 20th centuries. The Mall was built on land donated to the city of Cincinnati by the estate of General James Findlay (1770 – 1835) and Jane Irwin Findlay (1769 – 1851). Findlay Market is Ohio’s oldest local market. It was designed under the direction of civil engineer Alfred West Gilbert (1816-1900) using durable and seamless cast iron and wrought iron, a construction technology widely used in the United States. Findlay Market was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972. The structure was one of the first markets in the United States to use steel construction technology and is one of the few to survive. Built as an open pavilion, the market was built in 1852, but disputes with contractors and difficulties in resolving issues with the new construction process delayed its opening until 1855. It added a central tower in 1902. Soon, public health concerns about the market, which was open to the elements and caused increased urban pollution, led to the closure of the store and the addition of plumbing and refrigeration. Customers used to use safe storage in the cellars below the nearby brewery. The Market Tower bell, rung at the start of each day, originated in Cincinnati’s Pearl Street Market in 1934. The Findlay Market was renovated in 1973-74 as part of the federal Model Cities program. It was again renovated and expanded in 2002 and 2003.

General James Findlay

James Findlay was Cincinnati’s first settler and local leader. In 1793, at the age of 23, he brought his new wife, Jane, to a small Ohio town called Losantiville. James and Jane were the youngest children of a prominent family in Mercersburg, Franklin County, Pennsylvania. A permanent frontier on the Ohio River between the Great and Little Miami Rivers had been established less than four years before the Findlays’ arrival when the new federal government-built Fort Washington in late 1789. Another year later, in 1790, the name of the city was. He was moved from Losantiville to Cincinnati. King Pest Control Cincinnati

Cincinnati Freie Press

The population of Germans and German-Americans living in Outre-Rhin reached the beginning of the 20th century, about 75% of the region’s people, 44,475. Demographic patterns in Outre-Rhin during the 20th century reflect trends across the country. Ethnic Germans began to spread into the growing countryside due to increased German aggression during World War I. During the Great Depression and World War II, waves of rural Appalachians moved to Over-the-Rhine, where they found more affordable rental housing, jobs, and businesses nearby. Address: 1801 Race St, Cincinnati, OH.

Discover more attractions like Great American Ball Park